What is colour analysis? Great question.

In a nutshell: colour analysis is the process of determining what colours most suit you by using a series of precision-dyed, colour-calibrated fabric drapes.

I was first introduced to colour analysis in my mid-twenties when my local colour analyst did a talk at a group I was a member of. During the talk she did a brief demonstration on one of the women there. Holding up different coloured drapes, she showed us how the colours changed the look of her face. In warm, soft colours, the woman’s skin looked like dough and her jaw looked wider. In cooler, brighter colours, her skin came to life and her eyes shone out from her face. At 9AM the following morning, I called the analyst up and booked me and my three friends in.

Before…

I was so excited to have my ‘colours done’ that I barely slept the night before. At the draping, watching the transformation in my friends was utterly captivating. I saw my friend, who had lived in black, grey and purple most of her life, come alive in the bright, tropical colours of the Spring palette. Her warm turquoise eyes shone so brightly when the analyst put the coral pink drape under her chin. Honestly, I don’t think I’d ever noticed the colour of her eyes before.

After. I never thought pink suited me; turns out I’d been buying the wrong shade!

I soon saw the transformation in myself. After being ‘diagnosed’ as as Summer, I swapped my black mascara for navy and my bronzer for rose pink blusher. I swapped black for teal green and watched my face change before my eyes. It was thrilling.

Your colours, when worn in clothing (and make-up, and hair) will make your skin look clearer, your eyes brighter and sharper, and you will look youthful and vibrant. In the business, we call this being ‘in focus’.

Systems vary, but chances are you’ll be assigned a season: Spring, Summer, Autumn or Winter. If you are a Spring or an Autumn, warm (yellow-based) colours will make your skin glow. If you are a Summer or Winter, cool (blue-based) colours will look best. Winters and Springs look best in bright, saturated colours. Autumns and Summers look best in slightly softer, less saturated colours.

Within these palettes we’ll find your ‘sweet spot’. For example, one Summer might look best in the light, pastel shades. Another might suit the deeper, richer colours.

Is it possible to tell what season someone is just by looking at them? Sadly not. This is because any season can have any combination of hair/eye/skin colour. The only way you can ascertain what season someone is, is by draping them. This is because your skin’s undertone, not overtone, is what’s responsible for your colouring. Someone’s skin can look yellow (warm) in colour but still have a cool (blue) undertone, and vice versa. A colour analysis session using a set of precision-dyed drapes is the only way to find out what undertone you have, and therefore what set of colours (what season) suits you best. Everyone’s colouring is unique. You may have the same hair and eye colour as someone else, but that doesn’t mean your season will be the same.

Interested in having your colours analysed?

All the information you need, including how to book, is on my ‘What to expect at your colour analysis session‘ post.